Exploitation minière

Expertise en sciences de la Terre en support à l’exploitation minière

BGC fournit des services d’ingénierie et de géosciences appliquées à toutes les étapes de l’exploitation minière, lors de l’avant-projet, de l’exploitation et de la fermeture. Notre connaissance spécialisée des impacts de la géologie sur les structures techniques nous permet de fournir des solutions innovatrices sur des terrains variés et difficiles. Nous avons mené à bien des projets miniers d’exploitation de minerais, métaux, sables bitumineux et charbon dans le monde entier, dans des conditions climatiques allant de tropicales jusqu’à subarctiques.

Permis et environnement

BGC comprend les besoins en autorisations des projets miniers et peut fournir des services de soutien pour aider les clients à répondre aux exigences du cycle de vie de la mine. En outre, nous fournissons des services liés aux évaluations d’impacts environnementaux, y compris des évaluations de la qualité de l’eau et de la contamination, des plans d’assainissement, des vérifications environnementales, des revue de projet et examens de diligence raisonnable et des programmes de consultation avec les communautaires et divers intervenants. 

Caractérisation de site

Mining projects require a full understanding of the geology and hydrogeology and geotechnical conditions of a site. These conditions form the basis for designs and material supply that directly impact mine economics and risks. BGC delivers site characterization services from preliminary desktop reviews of geology, geohazards, and seismicity to rigorous site investigation and laboratory testing.  

Gestion et visualisation des données

L’équipe de développement logiciel de BGC conçois des applications Web pour répondre aux exigences de gestion de données importantes et de cartographie. Nos applications intègrent les données de forage et d’instrumentation aux données d’observation en géosciences et à diverses sources cartographiques. Les applications Web pour l’exploitation minière reposent sur les bases solides de la plateforme de gestion des risques naturels Cambio. BGC est le chef de file de l’industrie dans l’adoption de la réalité augmentée et virtuelle pour visualiser les données géoscientifiques et minières.

Conception et suivi de la construction

BGC serves as the engineer of record or designer of record for client projects. Our design services also include:

  • L’établissement de critères de conception géotechnique pour les mines à ciel ouvert et souterraines
  • La conception d’installations de traitement des haldes de stériles et de lixiviation
  • Les barrages de résidus et les structures de rétention d’eau
  • Les fondations civiles lourdes
  • Les structures hydrotechniques
  • Les services hydrogéologiques pour soutenir les ressources en eau ou dans le cadre de la conception de structures
  • Les services de fermeture de mines
  • La conception géotechnique d’infrastructures linéaires comme les routes, les pipelines et les lignes de transport.
Surveillance des performances

BGC surveille la performance des structures et des dangers en utilisant l’observation, les levés topographiques et bathymétriques, la télédétection et les instruments de surface et de sous-surface. Nous gérons l’installation, l’exploitation et la gestion des données d’une variété d’instruments géotechniques et hydrogéologiques, dont certains utilisent des systèmes d’acquisition automatique de données. Nous concevons nos structures en fonction d’indicateurs de performance et nous pouvons également aider nos clients à établir des seuils de surveillance pour d’autres éléments tels que les mouvements de masse (pente de la fosse ou naturels). BGC peut travailler avec les clients pour élaborer leur plan d’action pour les dépassements de seuil.

Soutien opérationnel

BGC fournit des services d’exploitation minière qui effectuent des tâches spécialisées, notamment

  • La planification des dépôts de résidus et la prévision de la densité
  • L’évaluation et l’atténuation de la chute de roche
  • L’évaluation et l’atténuation des risques d’éboulement de la pente de la mine
  • Les plans de gestion du contrôle des sols pour les mines à ciel ouvert et souterraines. 

 

Nous aidons nos clients à planifier leurs opérations, y compris les opérations, la maintenance et la surveillance (OMS), les plans et les plans de préparation aux situations d’urgence (PSU) pour les barrages et les installations de traitement des déchets miniers.

Gestion des risques

L’évaluation des risques permet aux promoteurs et aux exploitants de mines d’identifier les problèmes potentiels avant qu’ils n’entraînent des conséquences graves et coûteuses. BGC fournit des services complets d’évaluation des risques pour les installations minières et les infrastructures telles que les digues à stériles, les mines à ciel ouvert, les ouvertures souterraines, les décharges et les plans de fermeture. 

Services connexes

Personnes Ressources

Bill Burton

Bill Burton

Principal Geotechnical/Geological Engineer, Horizon 3 R&D Lead

Angela Küpper

Angela Küpper

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Brian Nachtigal

Brian Nachtigal

Principal Geotechnical/Geological Engineer

Daryl Dufault

Daryl Dufault

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Nick Enos

Nick Enos

Principal Geoscientist

Randi Thompson

Randi Thompson

Principal Hydrogeological Engineer

Roy Mayfield

Roy Mayfield

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Simon Dickinson

Simon Dickinson

Principal Geotechnical Engineer, Chief Technical Officer

Andre Zerwer

Andre Zerwer

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Ian Stilwell

Ian Stilwell

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Trevor Crozier

Trevor Crozier

Principal Hydrogeological Engineer

Chris McKane

Chris McKane

Principal Geological/Geotechnical Engineer, Mining Team Lead

Catherine Schmid

Catherine Schmid

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Rob Millar

Rob Millar

Principal Hydrotechnical Engineer

Andy Doe

Andy Doe

​​Principal Geotechnical Engineer​

Leonardo Moreno

Leonardo Moreno

Principal Civil Engineer

Bob Pack

Bob Pack

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Jorge Troncoso

Jorge Troncoso

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

FR

Mining

Earth science expertise across the complete lifecycle of mining

BGC provides engineering and applied geoscience services for every stage of mining, through pre-development, operations, and closure. Our specialized understanding of the impacts of geology on engineered structures allows us to provide innovative solutions in diverse and challenging terrain. We have successfully completed projects on mineral, metal, oil sand, and coal mining applications worldwide, in tropical to subarctic conditions.

Permitting & Environment

BGC understands the permitting needs of mining projects and can provide support services to help clients fulfill early lifecycle requirements. Additionally, we provide services related to environmental impact assessments, including water quality and contamination assessments, remediation designs, environmental audits, due diligence reviews, and community/stakeholder consultation programs. 

Site Characterization

Mining projects require a full understanding of the geology and hydrogeology and geotechnical conditions of a site. These conditions form the basis for designs and material supply that directly impact mine economics and risks. BGC delivers site characterization services from preliminary desktop reviews of geology, geohazards, and seismicity to rigorous site investigation and laboratory testing.  

Data Management & Visualization

BGC’s Software Team develops web applications to meet mission-critical data and mapping requirements. Our applications integrate drill hole and instrumentation data with earth-observation data and any number of map layers. Web applications for mining are built on the solid foundation of the Cambio geohazard-management platform. BGC leads the industry in the adoption of augmented and virtual reality to visualize geoscience and mining data.

Design & Construction Monitoring

BGC serves as the engineer of record or designer of record for client projects. Our design services also include:

  • Geotechnical design criteria for open pit and underground mining
  • Waste rock facility and heap leach designs
  • Tailings dams and water retaining structures
  • Heavy civil foundations
  • Hydrotechnical structures
  • Hydrogeological services to support water resources or as part of structure designs
  • Mine closure services
  • Geotechnical design of linear infrastructure like roads, pipelines, and transmission lines.
Performance Monitoring

BGC monitors the performance of structures and hazards using observation, topographical and bathymetric surveys, remote sensing, and surface and sub-surface instrumentation. We manage the installation, operation, and data management for a variety of geotechnical and hydrogeological instruments, some of which use automatic data acquisition systems. We design our structures to be monitored against performance indicators and we can also help clients establish monitoring thresholds for other elements such as mass movements (pit slope or natural). BGC can work with clients to develop their action plan for threshold exceedances.

Operational Support

BGC provides mining operations services completing specialized tasks including:

  • Tailings deposition planning and density prediction
  • Rockfall assessment and mitigation
  • Pit slope runout risk assessment and mitigation
  • Ground control management plans for open pit and underground mines. 

 

We assist our clients with their operational planning including Operations, Maintenance and Surveillance (OMS) and Plans and Emergency Preparedness Plans (EPP) for dams and mine waste facilities.

Risk Management

Risk assessments enable mine developers and operators to recognize potential problem areas before they result in serious and costly impacts. BGC provides comprehensive risk assessment services for mine facilities and infrastructure such as tailings dams, open pits, underground openings, waste dumps, and closure plans. 

Mining Related Services

Key Contacts

Bill Burton

Bill Burton

Principal Geotechnical/Geological Engineer, Horizon 3 R&D Lead

Angela Küpper

Angela Küpper

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Brian Nachtigal

Brian Nachtigal

Principal Geotechnical/Geological Engineer

Daryl Dufault

Daryl Dufault

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Nick Enos

Nick Enos

Principal Geoscientist

Randi Thompson

Randi Thompson

Principal Hydrogeological Engineer

Roy Mayfield

Roy Mayfield

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Simon Dickinson

Simon Dickinson

Principal Geotechnical Engineer, Chief Technical Officer

Andre Zerwer

Andre Zerwer

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Ian Stilwell

Ian Stilwell

Principal Geotechnical Engineer

Trevor Crozier

Trevor Crozier

Principal Hydrogeological Engineer

Chris McKane

Chris McKane

Principal Geological/Geotechnical Engineer, Mining Team Lead

Catherine Schmid

Catherine Schmid

Senior Geotechnical Engineer

Rob Millar

Rob Millar

Principal Hydrotechnical Engineer

Leonardo Moreno

Leonardo Moreno

Senior Civil Engineer